Project Zero G Forums Forum Index
Author Message
<  Swap Electrical  ~  need help for G4CP
ganbaa
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:19 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Hi experts. i guess The 4G63 and G4CP engine is almost same therefor i want use G4CP engine to my project because in my country spare's very full in market but got problem on ECU and harness and main relay (with 8 pin) is little difference plz any 1 have experience or skill for this share with me. or explain me about difference.There some link about this or any 1 used G4CP engine?
http://www.mirage-performance.com/sonata/Wiring/

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:22 am  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

Should probably work fine. Which computer will you run?

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ganbaa
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:27 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Thank you for post, planing use Hyundai ECU also will be attache picture as can soon Laughing

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 12:20 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

hi experts i got my ECU and harness for G4CP plz consult me how to begin aright remove and cut not useable wires






_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:56 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Plz any 1 share your minds for wire connections?

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:45 pm  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

Looks pretty straight forward. You should be able to trace sensors and other wires to determine which pinout is correct. Once you know which pinout to use, you can trace out what you need to tie into the chassis. Might be a good idea to unloom / eliminate what you dont need and then reloom (shrink tubing, not electrical tape) everything to the correct length for your application.

What car / truck are you putting this in?

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ganbaa
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:40 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Thanks my project car is W201 Mercedes Benz. Lot of people know 190E or Baby benz. This is my second swap of G4CP 1st was my daily drive W201 but some thing wrong on electric or connection of wires, i guess WTS (water temp sonsor ) and O2 sensor doesn't work how to i konw, there when car cold (in the morring or when evening when happen go to home becouse in winter time in Mongolia very cold high Temp almost -35, in summer time works normal) start very heavy after many atempt example (if lucky starter motor is normaly) 10-17 times will be start. About for O2 sensor when car is idle fuel consupation very high therefore I intending for wire connectoin. Also I very happy found this site Laughing. and more i'll be do some post how swap procedure G4CP engine Project car section. If any foulty garmmer and other sorry all my eglish not good Embarassed

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:49 am  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

When you unplugged the Mercedes engine harness where did it tie into the chassis harness. There can be several. Find out what all of these do (every wire). You should be able to build the Hyundai engine harness to hook up to each of these connectors. Should be as good as OEM if you use this method.

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ganbaa
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:23 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Oh I'm already cut out M102 engine wires as car and chassis i used to G4CP engine wires few wires ignition and fuel pump oil pressure thach etc may i lost some wires from G4CP engine ? My skill very bad for car electronic, therefore i miss some wires as G4CP engine have you any idea?
In here ECU Pin out difference 1G4G63 and G4CP DOHC 16V


Dear experts help me find as possible missing wires for WTS and O2 sensor. Embarassed

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:08 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

dear experts plz expalin me about red circled sensors how it work?

can i connect from ECU pin direct to sensors? but i don't understand how to connect it.
Sensors power source 5V it mean all sensors power? or not ? Rolling Eyes

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:46 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

plz help Crying or Very sad

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:42 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

How to power to WTS? any 1 have idea?

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:45 am  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

Found this 4G63 wiring diagram with a Google search.

http://www.orbitfiles.com/download/id502911555
password: 4evafr33

In the [late 1G turbo] wiring diagram on pages 80-81 of the above PDF shows the sensor ground is pin 24 on the ECU. The Water Temp Sensor (WTS) / Coolant Temp Sensor (CTS) input is pin 20. For your Sonata computer, the sensor ground is pin 23. The WTS / CTS input is pin 17.

Granted I havent seen everything, I've found most ECUs to use similar inputs and outputs to calculate fuel / timing as there are only certain things an engine needs to know to for this. They are also usually wired pretty similar too. WTS / CTS usually share a special sensor ground with the other 5v sensors: TPS, Intake Air Temp and in this case a MAF. 5v sensors also have a special power from the ECU if needed. The reason for the special ground and special power is to minimize ground offsets (differences in resistance between different grounding points on the chassis) which would offset the signal coming to the ECU from the sensor.

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ganbaa
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:22 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Tnx my friend but plz check pass agian, pass won't work, is it worng?

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:50 pm  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

What is "pass"?

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ganbaa
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:30 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Hehe sorry, the file is RAR and prtectod by Password: 4evafr33 but gave password is not match

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:53 am  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

It works. I just tested it.

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ganbaa
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:25 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Yes it is wroks but 2 days before itrying few times but on display apears password wrong. Anyway it is not important thank you very much

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:58 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Many thanks to DJpowerHaus as him help my knowlegde increasing also i guess 2 different power supply to ECU 1 of regular power supply(12 Volt from ignition) other 1 is back up power supply (direct from battery ). Plz explain me about diffrence?

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:07 pm  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

12V power supply is switched power. It turns off when the key is turned off. The 12v Backup power keeps power to the memory in the ECU. I believe it does this so it can store error codes even if you turn off the key.

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
ganbaa
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:34 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

I blow my ECU, guess wrong connection of power supply therefore reworking harness also buy other ECU Sad. The used file was wrong maybe difference of years Sad



_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:03 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

hi all plz explain me about Vechicle speed sensor is this important or not?

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:35 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Need more help finaly i found correct file for G4CP but car won't start plz consult me how to feed +12 V there my connection of feed 12 but something wrong

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Professor Quest
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:49 pm  Reply with quote
Addict


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 136
Location: High Desert, Albuquerque, NM. The NUCLEAR state!

I didn't read it all, sorry.

Just so you know...the ecu uses 12v to power itself.

Very often, the GROUND, has it's own wire, routed,
as far-away as the battery cable.
On a Starquest, it's a mid-splice, (on the apron)

However, the ECU reduces the voltage, positive & negative
when sent & RECEIVED, from a sensor.

CTS/WTS: ECU sends a GROUND, to the sensor (usually black wire)
the other wire sends a VARIBLE, ground return...certainly less than 12v
ground. (cause it started-out about 5 volts)
Determines: AFR when cold vs. hot.

In other words...don't be using, FULL-TILT, BODY grounds...that is NOT,
reduced. THAT....could cook a ECU!
Yes, you can change the lenght of the sensor, wires, but never change
the source.

Your PC has 110V. But your keyboard is what? Rolling Eyes

Just so you know. Cool


Last edited by Professor Quest on Sat Mar 10, 2012 11:16 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
The million dollar manual and AFFORDABLE parts too! USE IT!
http://starquest.i-x.net/viewforum.php?f=12
email: waynescoolworld@netzero.net USE IT!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ganbaa
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:54 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Thank you Professor Quest. i found my faulty, there missed 1 of ignition power.

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Professor Quest
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:28 pm  Reply with quote
Addict


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 136
Location: High Desert, Albuquerque, NM. The NUCLEAR state!

If/when, you decide to, custom build a system....DO NOT, make
a typical, stupid move!

Remove the battery!

Use a LOW-AMP battery charger @ 2amps, to test your system & volts.

That way, you won't FRY, your ECU & harness...IF, you had built a fault.

As I recall...Starquest had TWO, 12v, power supplies.

And, I know for a fact, that 88/89 had TWO grounds wires, that went
directly to the ECU (from the apron) yet 87 only had ONE!

The more Mitsu, wanted the ECU to perform, the more power it got.
Makes sense.

Member, Starquestrescue, is pretty sharp. You might converse with him.

You do....understand WHY, the negative cable is attached, DEAD-LAST?!

You got a dead battery? but failed to charge-it, for 16 hours @ 2 amps?
That could fry, a good alternator!

Now THINK, what that could do to a ECU...although its wired, correctly?

Yep, I myself, have "cooked" a few things, by PUSHING, too many amps.

Message is: SLOW DOWN! Back-off your amps, especially when charging the battery!
(removed from the vehicle= CYA!)



I....am a ECU, today.

I want: 12v+, (and ground) cause I have a MEMORY, that needs, power, 24-7.

I also want: a wake-up, call, so please, turn-on the igintion...from
a seperate, wire.

Savvy? Wink

Power is RESTRICTED, when it passes-thru, OLD, FUSIBLE LINKS! Crying or Very sad btw.

_________________
The million dollar manual and AFFORDABLE parts too! USE IT!
http://starquest.i-x.net/viewforum.php?f=12
email: waynescoolworld@netzero.net USE IT!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DJpowerHaus
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:45 pm  Reply with quote
Sir Post A Lot


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Hereford Zone, MD

LOL. PQ, you should write a children's book from the perspective of an ECU. "The Brave Little Toasted ECU" or something.

_________________

Getting the engine bolted in is about 10% of the way there.
The next 80% can go quickly with help and skill.
That last 10% takes about as long as the 90% that came before it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Professor Quest
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:50 pm  Reply with quote
Addict


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 136
Location: High Desert, Albuquerque, NM. The NUCLEAR state!

LOL! Laughing I only know the basics.

You shall, too...when you "cook" a few parts. Embarassed ...... Rolling Eyes

Trust me on this, when you crank-up your battery charger, and the battery is still attached, the FUSE LINKS weren't designed to carry, that many amps.


I have, fryed a few, when being in a hurry.

I hoped...I have learned my lesson!
Use it like this, when testing, new wiring! Wink
When you attach the ground, dead-last, if you see a pronounced
SPARK, something is turned ON, orrrrrr, you may have a SHORT! Shocked

A small spark is normal, cause a MEMORY draws, far less. Wink


2 amps vs. 900amps? Shocked
New, group 29, RV battery sitting next to it.

Just trying, to establish, NEW HABITS! Cool



One of my...OOPS. Embarassed


Used my commercial, battery charger, 550amps? but didn't remove
the battery cables! Flamed-out, one fusible link! Embarassed

No wire faults. Rolling Eyes Just a DEAD, battery.

_________________
The million dollar manual and AFFORDABLE parts too! USE IT!
http://starquest.i-x.net/viewforum.php?f=12
email: waynescoolworld@netzero.net USE IT!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ganbaa
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:22 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

I'm hooked my harness but missing 2 more conectors

1 is O2 sensor

and purge control wire

also i'm want some modification and found with 4 wires O2 sensor with harness but there
diffirent color as original hooked harness plz tell me how to connect it to my ECU harness

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
ganbaa
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:59 pm  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker


Joined: 08 Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Location: Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar

Problem happened my project about symptom when engine cold works normal, engine temp reach up to 80 idle speed wrong engine working same like breathing and withe and black smoke i suspect can't calculate air fuel mixture otherwise MAF and ECU doesn't accept each other b'couse i found MAF and ECU from junk yard any 1 know how to adjust MAF to ECU for my G4CP project ?

_________________
Better car is tuned car
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT - 5 Hours

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 1
Project Zero G Forums Forum Index  ~  Swap Electrical

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB and Ad Infinitum v1.06